Easy Chocolate Pumpkin Waffles


Last week, I got asked to post more breakfast recipes. (Timely request considering that I’d just made the most DELICIOUS protein waffles in history.) So, you guys get back-to-back pumpkin recipes before Thanksgiving! This is what happens when I get asked to make and/or post specific things. I get a little too excited and tend to write more during my lunch hour at work.

If you’ve read any of my other breakfast recipes, you know that I have a thing about making crazy pancakes on weekends. During the week, I stick to the same bacon-eggs-toast combo for my morning meal. Weekends are different. I’m usually not in a rush to get anywhere, so I can be more adventurous with what I cook.

My recent favorite: waffles (because I finally figured out how to work the waffle iron my mom gave, which I’m almost 100% sure is from the 1980’s). I somehow make less of a mess with waffles than I do when making pancakes, and I feel like they turn out better. Plus, you can top them with peanut butter and the little squares are instantly filled with deliciousness. Waffles+peanut butter=win. Bust out the sugar-free Mrs. Buttersworth, hand me a jar of PB, and I’ll be happy in pretty much any breakfast scenario.

Chocolate Pumpkin (Protein) Waffles

I made these two weekends ago and they were a HIT. They’re filling, YUMMY, and have only a few ingredients (meaning they’re easy to make). The nutritional details are pretty unbelievable, so you don’t need to feel guilty about eating 3 of them. Plus, if you make a larger batch and bag up your leftovers, they keep well in the fridge and can be eaten throughout the week. Ryan popped these in the toaster on his early mornings and said they were just as good when reheated. If you’re a fan of make-ahead breakfasts, try these out! Or, make them for a festive, healthy Thanksgiving breakfast this week.

Tired of pumpkin? Sub in 1-2 small mashed bananas or 3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce. The nutritional information will change based on your substituted ingredient, but it shouldn’t vary too far from what I’ve listed.

NOTE: My serving size is for one 4″x4″x1″ traditional Belgian waffle. Each batter pour into the waffle iron was slightly over 1/4 cup, which made 2 waffles. I haven’t tried this with a circular waffle maker, but if you do, PLEASE let me know how much batter goes into it because the nutritional information might vary. Also, I didn’t include the syrup and/or peanut butter that you should DEFINITELY put on top of these in the details listed below.

Nutritional 20131126-140155.jpgOverview
Calories: 74
Carbs: 8
Fat: 1
Protein: 8

Serves: 12 (1 serving = 1  waffle)
Cook time: 20 minutes

Ingredients:
– 1 1/2 c egg whites
– 3 scoops (~60g) chocolate protein powder (I used BioTrust)
– 3/4 c canned pumpkin
– ~1 c oat flour (or 1 1/8c rolled oats ground up in a blender)
– 1/4 package sugar-free, fat-free Jello chocolate pudding mix
– Granulated Stevia, to taste (I only added about 1/4 c)
– 3/4 tbsp cinnamon
– 1/4 tbsp pumpkin pie spice

Directions:

  1. If you’re making your own oat flour, grind up the oats
  2. Combine your dry ingredients in a bowl
  3. Mix in your wet ingredients until batter is smooth (should be pretty runny — if it’s too thick and doesn’t easily pour out into the waffle iron, add more egg whites or a little almond milk)
  4. Test the sweetness of your batter; add more Stevia or spices if needed
  5. Coat your waffle iron with non-stick cooking spray
  6. Pour 1/4 to 1/3 c of batter into waffle iron, close, and cook until golden brown
  7. Remove waffles, transfer to a warm plate, and repeat a zillion (11, really) times until you’re out of batter
  8. Top with PB and sugar-free syrup (and maybe some whipped cream? I did because I’m fancy on Sunday mornings)
  9. DIG IN.

Leave a comment