Healthier Chicken Enchiladas and Mexican Cauliflower “Rice”


You guys are in luck. I’ve got not just one — but 2 (TWO!) recipes for today’s post. AND, THEY’RE BOTH MEXICAN FOOD. I’m really trying to make this long, dreary Monday a little more bearable for everyone. :o) Sunday night dinner this week was Chicken Enchiladas and Mexican Cauliflower “Rice.” I missed queso a little bit, but let me tell ya — this healthy alternative to traditional TexMex was so legit.

But first, a little weekend recap. Ryan had the whole weekend off (which is a rare occurrence) and got to join me at the Saturday AM boot camp. It’s free and open to anyone every single week, and there’s an added bonus: sometimes, if we’re lucky, we get free breakfast tacos as a post-workout snack! Yum. This weekend’s workout was KILLER. According to our Polar HRMs, Ryan burned 826cal and I burned 756cal in less than an hour. Record-setting sweat sesh for both of us. (Thanks Eugene!)

Anyway, I stepped on the scale before we left the apartment to head to our workout. I hadn’t weighed myself in a while. It turns out that I’ve lost another 7lbs in the last 2-3 weeks. Unreal. I’m telling you guys, I’m in the best shape of my life, and it just keeps getting better. There isn’t some magical pill or meal replacement shake that does the trick, either. It’s all from the way that I’ve been cooking for myself and fueling my body, and I’m not restricting myself.

Later, we watched some Texas football at the new Abel’s North and then went shopping. We both needed pants that actually fit. 90% of what’s in the closet is too big. It’s a great problem to have. I bought the smallest pair of pants I’ve ever purchased, and they fit fantastically. Talk about a good day. :o)

Sunday, I got to have brunch with a few of my oldest, dearest friends. ImageThis was definitely the highlight of my weekend — even better than stepping on the scale or buying new clothes. You know those people that you can talk to about ANYTHING and your brain just feels better after having a conversation with them? That’s how all of these girls are. We spent a good 4 hours just sitting at the table gabbing about everything under the sun, and it was exactly what I needed. What made it even better: my best friend since 2nd grade had a baby earlier this year, and she brought him along to our girls brunch date. This little nugget is the most adorable thing on the planet. The hostess, Jeanette (holding Jaxon in the picture) made some BOMB brunch dishes, too. I might have doubled up on cheat meals this week, and I don’t feel guilty at all. I don’t even think about beating myself up over the extra calories because I know it’s not the norm for me. They were worth it, and I’m back to sweet potatoes and ground turkey for lunch today. We’ve got a Marketing Awards celebration for work at Maggiano’s this evening — I’ll be passing on the free pasta dinner and ducking out early to make a late workout. Back at it.

After brunch, Ryan and I did our grocery shopping and worked on prepping meals for this week. He mentioned that he was REALLY craving Mexican food, so I decided to attempt a pretty big task for our Sunday dinner: healthy enchiladas.

One thing about living in Austin: every other restaurant you pass on the street is a Mexican joint. It’s both a blessing and a curse. If you’re like me, you love a good, cheesy plateful of Mexican goodness with some beans and rice on the side. The problem with (most) Mexican dishes is that they’re way too high in fat and carbs while packing little-to-no protein. Ryan’s dad owns a Mexican restaurant, so he gave him a call and asked for his red enchilada sauce recipe. OH MAN. These turned out WONDERFULLY. I paired the enchiladas with Mexican Cauliflower Rice, which was equally delicious. Find a way to fit this into your meal plan this week — you won’t be sorry.

Healthier Chicken Enchiladas

Nutritional Overview (per enchilada):
Calories: 143
Carbs: 10
Fat: 4
Protein: 13

Serves: 8 enchiladas (I had 3; Ryan inhaled 5)
Cook time: ~45 minutes

Ingredients:

Enchiladas
– 8 small corn tortillas (We used Guerrero’s White Corn)
– 10oz. shredded chicken (I cubed 2 breasts, boiled for 10 minutes, then fork-shredded it)
– 1 tsp. extra virgin olive oil
– 1 small onion, chopped
– 1/2 tbsp. minced garlic
– 1/2 tbsp. Chili powder
– 1 tsp. Pink Himalayan Salt (or sea salt)
– 1 tsp. Ground Pepper
– 2 tsp. dried Cilantro
– 1 tsp. Oregano
– 1/4 Fiesta Ranch Dry Seasoning packet
– 1/2 cup salsa (Ryan made a fresh batch, but you can use whatever brand you prefer)
– 1/4 cup 2% Kraft Shredded Mexican Cheese Blend

Sauce
– 1-2 tbsp. Chili powder
– 1 tsp. minced garlic
– 3/4-1 cup water
– 1 tsp. Cumin
– Salt and pepper (to taste)
– 1/2 tbsp. corn starch

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  2. Cook onion, garlic, and EVOO in a skillet over medium heat until tender
  3. Add your shredded chicken, 1/2 tbsp garlic, 1/2 tbsp Chili powder, oregano, cilantro, Fiesta Ranch seasoning, salt, and pepper into the same skillet and stir to combine
  4. Add about 1/2 cup salsa (or just enough to moisten the chicken mixture); mix thoroughly
  5. In a separate saucepan (small), bring 1-2 tbsp. Chili powder, 1 tsp. minced garlic, and water to a low boil
  6. Add cumin, salt, and pepper to saucepan and mix with a whisk or fork until smooth
  7. Reduce heat to medium. Gradually add corn starch until it’s a semi-thick consistency (it shouldn’t be too watery, but you don’t want it clumpy or too thick to easily pour — add water if it starts to clump. This is a trial-and-error process.)
  8. Place about 1/4cup shredded chicken mixture into each corn tortilla
  9. Roll them up and place (seam down) in a greased baking dish
  10. Top with red sauce and shredded cheese
  11. Cover with foil and cook for 20 minutes
  12. Top with fat free sour cream, avocados, and/or green onions to serve (not included in nutritional information)

Mexican Cauliflower “Rice”

Nutritional Overview (per 2/3 cup serving)
Calories: 65
Carbs: 5
Fat: 3
Protein: 1

Serves: 3-4
Cook time: 15 minutes

Ingredients:
– 1 medium head of cauliflower
– 1/3 cup low-sodium broth (vegetable, beef, or chicken all work)
– 1 tsp. garlic powder
– 2 tsp. dried Cilantro
– 1 tsp. Oregano
– 1/4 tsp. Cayenne pepper
– 1/2 tbsp. Mrs. Dash Salt-Free Southwestern Blend
– Juice of 1 lime
– Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

  1. Rinse cauliflower head, remove stem, and chop into large chunks
  2. Place chunks into food processor and pulse until you get a rice-like texture
  3. Combine cauliflower “rice” and broth in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat
  4. Cover and steam for 10-15 minutes or until cauliflower is tender. (Stir every 1-2 minutes so your “rice” doesn’t stick to the pan)
  5. Add remaining ingredients and stir well to combine
  6. Pat yourself on the back for NOT going to Chuy’s, Trudy’s, or Taco Cabana!

My entire plate (3 enchiladas, a little sour cream, a couple of slices of avocado, and a serving of “rice”) was right around 500cal with 36g of protein and around 15g of fat. You can’t find food this healthy or cheap at any Mexican restaurant!

2 thoughts on “Healthier Chicken Enchiladas and Mexican Cauliflower “Rice””

Leave a comment